From the President’s Desk – November 2014

Hello Everyone

Congratulations for our first most successful Pistang Filipino weekend. First of all I would like to thank everyone who was involved in it, such as our members, volunteers, the sports team members, singers, dancers and the beauty pageant contestants all the supporters, and to all the committee for their efforts to put together this successful event. The weekend was awesome and I loved every minute of it. A big pat on the backs for our organising committee. It was a great team effort., I think we hosted a well run outstanding weekend. I am so proud of what we achieved and the weather was so perfect for us.

We are now compiling our income and expense accounts. We were very lucky with the TSB Trust underwriting the weekend – $13,000 to cover our costs. All our many months of planning and work has paid off.

Thank you to Harold for his support and work on our newsletters and programme.

Thank you to all and all the best for Christmas and New Year.

Ulinda Sandford

Pistang Pilipino 2014 sa New Plymouth Photos



As the Philippine Embassy continues to embark on its priority to deliver more effective and efficient consular services directly to the Filipino communities throughout the North Island of New Zealand, its Mobile Consular Team will render consular services and registration of overseas voters to Filipinos in New Plymouth, Taranaki and surrounding areas in the North Island on the following schedule:


  1. 24 October 2014 (Friday) 1:30 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.
  2. 25 October 2014 (Saturday) 9:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.
  3. 26 October 2014 (Sunday) 9:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.
  4. 27 October 2014 (Monday) 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 nn.

VENUE: Pukekura Function Centre
Rogan Street
New Plymouth, Taranaki

The consular services are passport renewal/issuance, authentication & notarization of legal documents, NBI fingerprinting & certification (latest passport sized photos required) and dual citizenship application and oath taking.

The Embassy will also conduct overseas voter registration for the upcoming presidential elections in 2016. Filipino citizens, who will be at least 18 years of age on 09 May 2016, are eligible to register to vote. The Philippine Embassy enjoins all Filipinos to exercise their rights in choosing the next leaders of the Philippines in 2016.

Important Reminders:

1.) For all types of consular transaction, please bring a photocopy of the data page and visa page of your passport (both copied on one page of A4 bond paper).
2.) Passport applicants must also bring a prepaid self-addressed courier bag with signature required (which requires a signature upon delivery) for the Embassy to send their new e-passports.
3.) Payments for passport processing and other consular services must be made in cash or in bank draft payable to the Embassy of the Philippines, Wellington.
(Please refer to the schedule of fees listed on the Embassy website at ).
4.) For those passport applicants who have recently acquired dual citizenship, please bring your original Oath of Allegiance, Identification Certificate and the Order of Approval, and a photocopy of each of these documents.
5.) Passport applicants must wear a shirt with collar for data-capturing purposes (photo).
6.) Please comply with all the requirements for consular services listed in the Embassys website.

7.) For those who would like to avail of dual citizenship and who wish to take their Oath in October in New Plymouth, Taranaki please send your application form together with the documentary requirements (listed on this link: ) to the Philippine Embassy on or before 17 October 2014. Upon review and approval of the petition, the Embassy shall contact the applicant for the schedule of the Oath Taking in Auckland.

8.) For those who will register to vote, please bring a copy of your valid Philippine passport OR if you are a dual citizen, any of the following: Oath of Allegiance, Identification Certificate or Order of Approval.

Appointment for the mobile passport processing in New Plymouth, Taranaki and surrounding areas can be made through the Philippine Embassy in Wellington at telephone numbers (04) 8903741, 8903742 and 8903744.

Wellington, 18 September 2014

From the President’s Desk – September 2014

Hello Everyone

We are getting very close to our Labour Weekend so all the Committee are very busy working on their tasks and projects. The girls are busy practicing their dances for the show.

We are going to be hosting a lot of visitors with about 40 basketball teams, 26 volleyball teams, 14 ten-pin bowling teams as well as darts, pool and golf. In addition we have our Beauty Pageant night as well as our Cultural Evening which means more visitors. With only six weeks to go before our big event make sure you have got your tickets for the two nights. The tickets are available from Ticketmaster for the two nights at the TSB Showplace.

Thanks to all the Committee and volunteers for your hard work in organising this event.Thanks to Edna for her commitment to this Society and to my husband,John, for his support and advice.

Do not forget the Market Days on Saturday and Sunday where you can buy both food and the ingredients for cooking your own.

So, see you there.

Ulinda Sandford

 Page 1 of 16  1  2  3  4  5 » ...  Last »